Bookmark Mail this page Print this page

रेल सुरक्षा बल

Railway Protection Force

विजयवाड़ा मंडल

Vijayawada Division

running train



Vijayawada Division is located on the Howrah – Chennai and New Delhi – Chennai trunk route.  It came into existence in the year 1956 as a part of Southern Railway. It was amalgamated in South Central Railway with effect from 2nd October, 1966.Some portion of it was carved out for creation of Guntur Division with effect from 1st April 2003.Vijayawada Division forms a very vital Railway link on the Indian Railway System as ‘Gateway’ to the South. Presently this division runs through seven revenue districts viz., Visakhapatnam, East Godavari, West Godavari, Krishna, Guntur, Prakasam and Nellore renamed as Sri Potti Sriramulu Nellore Dist.The eastern half of the districts adjoining the coast of Bay of Bengal is fed by important perennial rivers like the Pennar (near Nellore), the Krishna (near Vijayawada) and the Godavari (near Rajahmundry). Vijayawada Railway station is one of the busiest Railway junctions in India.



Source : South Central Railway CMS Team Last Reviewed on: 03-10-2018